Maharashtra Pradesh congressional committee appoints 2 transgender people as secretaries for the first time



Bombay, August 27: In an effort to boost the aspirations of marginalized communities, Congress first appointed two transgender people as secretaries to the Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC), senior party officials said on Friday.

The announcement came in a giant list of 190 officials, including about 17 women, for the MPCC released by Congress on Thursday night.

Anannyah Kumari Alex, Kerala’s first transgender RJ and Assembly candidate, found dead in her Kochi apartment; Police suspect suicide.

Two transgender people – Parvathi Parasuram Jogi and Salma Umarkhan Sakarkar – were the unexpected entrants as MPCC secretaries on the list.

In addition, state congressional spokesman Sachin Sawant said the party had appointed 18 vice presidents, 65 general secretaries and 104 secretaries.

Today, the MPCC has represented people from 48 different communities, including transgender people, and is considerably ‘younger’ with an average age of 52, with the oldest over 70 and the youngest at. barely 30 years old.

Highlights include the appointment of Pradnya Satav, the widow of the late Secretary General Rajeev S. Satav – who died of complications from Covid-19 in May – as MPCC vice president.

A close associate of the former central minister, the late Gurudas Kamat and the current treasurer of the Mumbai Congress, Amarjit Singh Manhas, has now been elevated to the post of treasurer of the MPCC.

MP Dhiraj V. Deshmukh – the third son of the late CM and Union Minister Vilasrao Deshmukh – is now General Secretary of the MPCC. His other siblings are Amit Deshmukh who is a Minister of State Cabinet and Riteish Deshmukh who is a well-known Bollywood actor and director.

MPCC President Nana Patole organized a reunion of all party candidates who were defeated in the 2019 legislative elections by very narrow margins, shocking many leaders.

This drastically reduced the party’s number of victories, pushing it to the fourth position after the Bharatiya Janata Party, Shiv Sena and the Nationalist Congress Party.

About fifteen party candidates lost the election with narrow voting gaps – mainly due to infighting and local rivalries – but now all must work hard to secure victory in the 2019 parliamentary elections, he added. .

The new MPCC roster with an army of bureau members is expected to get to work in earnest for the upcoming civic body elections in the state and the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in 2024.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on August 27, 2021 at 11:40 a.m. IST. For more information and updates on Politics, World, Sports, Entertainment, and Lifestyle , connect to our website


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.