Kerala Pradesh congress committee unveils giant executive committee, 10 new general secretaries – the New Indian Express


Through Express news service

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The AICC leadership on Sunday approved a giant committee of KPCC bureau members comprising 96 secretaries and 10 general secretaries, in addition to the 34 general secretaries announced in January.

An executive committee of 175 KPCC members was also announced. KPCC chairman Mullappally Ramachandran – who was appointed on September 19, 2018 – finally has a full-fledged committee ahead of local elections.

Factional politics had delayed the process even as the Assembly by-elections and Lok Sabha elections unfolded before the COVID-19 pandemic broke out. Besides those of factions ‘A’ and ‘I’, several leaders without group tendency have also found their place in the new roster.

In January, 12 vice-presidents and 34 general secretaries were appointed. But that did not allow the president of the KPCC to convene the executive committee.

Mullappally told TNIE that various factors such as community reserves and language equations, referring to Subbaiah Rai of Kasaragod and Anglo Indian representative Charles Dias, were taken into account. “The concerns of youth, women and SC / ST leaders were also addressed. They eventually received significant representation. Ten women leaders found a place on the list of KPCC secretaries,” Mullapally said.

The women leaders on KPCC’s list of secretaries are Jebi Mather, secretary of the All India Youth Congress, and Jyothi Vijayakumar, who became the star after translating speeches by Rahul Gandhi and Acting Congress President Sonia Gandhi. Jyothi is the daughter of D Vijayakumar, candidate for the Congressional by-elections in Chengannur.

Youth leaders on the list include former NSUI secretary S Sarath, who was a congressional candidate for the Cherthala assembly constituency, former Youth Commission chairman RV Rajesh, the first elected general secretary of State Youth Congress (YC) DV Vinodkrishna, former YC chairman of Thiruvananthapuram district. The Secretaries General of State PS Prasanth and YC Rinku Cheriyan, KS Gopakumar and Aneesh Varikkannamala.

The new general secretaries include former chairman of Ernakulam DCC VJ Poulose, former chairman of Malappuram DCC E Mohammed Kunhi, VA Narayanan, who was retained, PK Jayalakshmy, the only female minister of the former ministry of UDF, former Haripad MLA B Babu Prasad, former All Indian Youth Congress Secretary Deepthy Mary Varghese, former KSU Chairman VS Joy Sony Sebastian who has often been considered a candidate for the Irikkur Assembly Constituency Congress, Former KTDC Chairman Vijayan Thomas and Former Youth Commission Deputy Chairman Martin George.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.