“Jagdish Thakor will be the new Chairman of the Gujarat Pradesh Congress Committee, Rathwa LOP”

Gandhinagar, December 2 (SocialNews.XYZ) Sources in Congress have reported that former MP Jagdish Thakor has been chosen as the new Chairman of the Gujarat Pradesh Congress Committee (GPCC), although an official announcement will be made on Friday. The leader of the opposition party (LOP) will be Sukhram Rathwa.

The post of President remained vacant after incumbent President Amit Chavda tendered his resignation following the 2017 National Assembly elections. LOP Paresh Dhanani had also resigned although both resignations were not accepted by the party high command in New Delhi.

Rumors have been circulating for some time about vacancies before Diwali and then after Diwali. But the positions remained vacant and it seemed that the high command was confused about the situation.

But according to big old party sources, Jagdish Thakor’s name has now been finalized. LOP’s name has also been finalized according to sources, with Sukhram Rathwa replacing Dhanani.

Born on July 1, 1957, Thakor’s political journey began as a student leader when he joined the Navnirman Andolan while studying at a high school on the outskirts of Ahmedabad. Later, by a twist of fate, Kapadvanj’s Congress candidate Fulsinh refused to contest the election at the last moment, giving Thakor a fighting chance in the 1998 parliamentary election. However, he lost to Jaysinh BJP’s Chauhan by about 39,000 votes.

However, he had strong support from the Thakor community and his involvement in educational activities soon landed him in the Gujarat Assembly from the Dehgam siege in 2002, even as the saffron wave swept through the state. Thakor again won the seat in the 2007 Assembly elections, but resigned after winning the parliamentary seat from Patan in 2009.

The Congress High Command also selected tribal leader Sukhram Rathwa, the Chotta Udepur constituency legislator, as the LOP.

“Yes, the news about the two posts in the party high command is true. The leader of the GPCC will be Jagdish Thakor and the LOP will be Rathwa. But the official announcement might be made later in the evening,” Amit said. Chavda to IANS.

Source: IANS

About Gopi

Gopi Adusumilli is a programmer. He is editor of SocialNews.XYZ and president of AGK Fire Inc.

He enjoys designing websites, developing mobile apps and publishing topical news articles from various authenticated news sources.

As for writing, he enjoys writing about current world politics and Indian movies. His future plans include developing SocialNews.XYZ into a news website that has no bias or judgment towards any.

He can be reached at [email protected]

Comments are closed.