Hyde-Smith 117th Congress Committee Assignments Set, Includes Leadership Position on Appropriations Committee | Mississippi Politics and Current Affairs

Miss. Senator retains spots on four committees, including appropriations and agriculture


U.S. Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) today announced that she will be the Ranking Member of the Financial Services and General Government (FSGG) Appropriations Subcommittee under Committee Assignments of the Senate being defined for the 117th Congress.

“The 50-50 split in the Senate will not diminish my resolve to use my committee assignments to work on behalf of Mississippi and the nation. Many of the difficult issues we face today will come before my committees and I will work hard to make decisions that are in the best interests of Mississippians,” Hyde Smith said.

Hyde-Smith will continue to serve on the Senate Appropriations Committee, the Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee, the Energy and Natural Resources Committee and the Rules and Administration Committee.

As a senior member of the FSGG Appropriations Subcommittee, Hyde-Smith will help lead a panel with jurisdiction over a range of federal agencies, including the Department of Treasury, Small Business Administration, Federal Communications Commission, the Federal Trade Commission, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission, Internal Revenue Service, and many others.

Hyde-Smith will also continue to rise through the ranks on the following appropriations subcommittees: agriculture, rural development, Food and Drug Administration and related agencies; Energy and water development; homeland security; Interior, environment and related agencies; and Labor, health and social services, education and related agencies.

Under the Biden administration, Democrats have majority status and thus leadership of Senate committees in the 117th Congress, with Republicans taking on rank and file status. The Mississippi senator was chairman of the legislative branch appropriations subcommittee during the 116th Congress.


Statement by Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith.

Comments are closed.