Current Chairman of Odisha Congress Committee Pradeep Majhi to quit party, likely to join BJD


A prominent tribal chief and former MP for Nabarangpur Lok Sabha constituency, Mr. Majhi said the big old party “lacks enthusiasm”.

In a major shake up for the opposition Congress ahead of the panchayat elections slated for early 2022, the incumbent Chairman of the Odisha Pradesh Congressional Committee (OPCC) and former MP Pradeep Majhi resigned from membership on Friday principal of the party.

The resignation letter was sent to the party’s acting president, Sonia Gandhi.

“With deep respect and obedience, I beg you to state with extreme sadness and pain that I have decided to resign from the majority of the Indian National Congress,” he said in the letter.

Also Read: Unrest Continues As Navjot Singh Sidhu and Amarinder Singh Clash Over Farm Laws

A prominent tribal chief and former MP for Nabarangpur Lok Sabha constituency, Mr. Majhi said he wanted to serve people while being in Congress, but the big old party “is lacking in enthusiasm.”

“The party organization has been managed extremely well by your dynamic leadership which has gradually declined due to recalcitrant people in pivotal positions at different levels, and now the party has almost lost its credibility which may take a long time to be reborn,” he stressed. in the letter.

He, however, said: “I have a great desire to serve my people, no matter what position I am, which the Congress party is now lacking. I am leaving the party painfully for which I can be graciously apologized. my duties according to your ideology and to serve the people with the greatest satisfaction. ” Sources close to Mr Majhi said the former parliamentarian is most likely to join the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) party with supporters this month when Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik visits Nabarangpur.

He was elected to Lok Sabha of Nabarangpur in 2009, although he lost the elections in 2014 and 2019 to Balabhadra Majhi and Ramesh Majhi of BJD respectively.

Pradeep Majhi has considerable influence among the tribes of the districts of Nabarangpur and Malkangiri.

Mr. Majhi also sent copies of his resignation letter to Rahul Gandhi, Odisha Congressman and MP Chella Kumar, OPCC President Niranjan Patnaik and AICC Secretary Rudra Raju.

Prior to the 2019 elections, another sitting OPCC chairman, Naba Kishore Das, left the party and joined the ruling BJD. He is now state health minister.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.